top of page

share &care 

Is social media getting the best out of you

Recently I found myself regularly sucked into the world of social media...

I’ve caught myself feeling the need to pop into Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or Gmail for a quick visit whenever, I had 'free' moment and it really wasn't doing me a favour in terms of my homeschooling and parenting. That time, I could spend on something more productive like catching up on my planning, cleaning, reading, studying or even doing my Quran hifdh!

This time that Allah has given us, is a blessing from Allah but is also limited. Once it’s gone it’s gone.After contemplating, I became concerned enough to stop spending unnecessary time on social media.

The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: ”Take advantage of five matters before five other matters: your youth before you become old; your health, before you fall sick; your wealth, before you become poor; your free time before you become preoccupied, and your life, before your death.”

(Narrated by Ibn Abbas in the Mustadrak of Hakim & Musnad Imam Ahmad. Sahih)

Despite all the distractions that social media has, it can also bring benefits such as sharing important information, supporting others, keeping up-to date with social events and aiding those in need. However, these benefits need to be balanced. I can share with you, 5 easy ways that have helped me overcome my addiction, in the hope to help you all.

1 - To avoid distractions, switch off the push notifications on the phone. If someone needs to get hold of you urgently, they will call you.

2 - Set times to go on social media, and stick with those times. This will allow you to spend time on what is more important in your limited time.

3 - To avoid the easy access, delete the apps on your phone, to allow yourself to access it only via laptop at your set times.

4 - Clear your phone! I remember receiving over 400 messages from just one whats-app group! Leaving that group freed my mind to focus on things of true value. We don't have to be on every whats-app group, or FB page or Instagram page that we know of, we must overcome our fear of 'missing out on things' and be selective.

5 - Keep your phone in a different room! This really does work, wear a watch or have a clock in the house. Having a house phone would be a bonus, for urgent calls.

I hope these tips come in handy... Please leave a comment below on your experience with social media. Do you find yourself caught in social media often? Do you have any tips for managing your time online? I would love to hear your tips for managing internet in such a way that it does not get the best out of you. Inshaa Allah (God willing), we can beat the internet addiction together.

Please, subscribe to our mailing list to not miss a thing.

For regular updates and activities, you can follow us on


bottom of page